A complete overview of Users
Every person who has a user profile stored in the User Section of your web site is referred to as a User.
Administrators, Mail List Subscribers, online Shopping System Customers and
Members are all sub-sets of your Users.
There are only 2 ways to create User profiles in your web site:
1/ A Visitor can complete the User Registration Form
2/ A Site Administrator can add a new User via the User Section*
When a Visitor completes the User Registration Form within your web site, a web page is displayed advising them they have been sent a confirmation e-mail.
The confirmation e-mail contains a confirmation link that must be clicked by the Visitor to confirm their registration.
Once the Visitor clicks the confirmation link, a welcome e-mail message is sent to them, and a new user alert is e-mailed to the Site Administrator.
Note: Users must confirm their registration before they will appear in the User Pickers that allow administrators to provide special access for Users to areas of your website. Non-confirmed Users cannot be added as Contact options in the Contact form until they confirm their registration.
*When an Administrator adds a new User via the Users Section, the system sends the confirmation e-mail to the new User and everything works the same way as if a User completed the Registration Form themselves except the web page advising that the confirmation e-mail has been sent does not display to the Administrator, who is free to continue other administration tasks.
Everyone with a User Profile - including EVERY Visitor who completes the Registration Form or is added by an Administrator - regardless of whether they click the confirmation link or not
A User with administration privileges
Mail List Subscriber:
A User who has:
A: Selected one or more Mail List Topics in their User Profile (either when they registered, or at a later date by logging into their profile)
B: Clicked the confirmation link in the automated e-mail alert they received when they first registered
C: Not clicked the automatic 'Unsubscribe' link contained in any e-mail you have sent to them
Note: If a User does not click the confirmation link in the automated e-mail they receive when they first register, they are still added to the User section of your web site, they can access their profile, make online purchases etc., but they will not be included in campaigns sent via your Messenger System, even if they have selected one or more mail list topics.
Online Shopping System Customers:
Every Visitor who has completed the User Registration Form can make purchases via your online shop, regardless of whether they have clicked the confirmation link or not.
Regardless of whether or not a customer has clicked the confirmation link, you can send e-mail direct to online shop customers by clicking the 'E-mail Customer' link in the administration tools menu when you are processing an order in your Shop Administration area
However, if the Customer has not clicked the confirmation link and selected one or more Mail List Topics you are not able to send them messages via the Messenger System
Note: First time customers who complete the User Registration Form while making an online purchase do not see the web page advising them they have been sent a confirmation e-mail until after they complete their purchase
Every Visitor who has completed the User Registration Form can make a Membership Purchase via your online membership shop, regardless of whether they have clicked the confirmation link or not
Regardless of whether or not the Member has clicked the confirmation link, you can send messages to members via your Messenger System, which has a special Member filtering function that allows you to select the Membership Group you wish to send to and then select from various membership status options such as 'current', expired', 'expiring within 1 month' etc.
However, if the Member has not clicked the confirmation link and selected one or more Mail List Topics you can only send messages to them via the special Member filtering function and not via the normal Messenger System
Visitors with items stored in their Favourites:
If your web site includes the Favourites function, every Visitor who has completed the User Registration Form can add items from the relevant sections of your web site to their favourites list, regardless of whether they have clicked the confirmation link or not
Regardless of whether or not the Visitor has clicked the confirmation link, you can send messages to these Users via your Messenger System, which has a special Favourites filtering function that allows you to select the Item (such as a specific product) and send a message to everyone who has stored that item in their favorites
However, if the User has not clicked the confirmation link and selected one or more Mail List Topics you can only send messages to them via the special Favourites filtering function and not via the normal Messenger System
Note: If the Favourite function is activated in your web site, when you are filtering message recipients within the Messenger System a list of every item in your web site that at least one User has stored in their favourites will appear
The confirmation e-mail, the welcome e-mail and the web pages that display to users during various stages of registration can be customised and personalised according to your requirements within the IASP Control Panel > Automated Messages area of your website.
Please note IASP can also directly import Users from any pre-existing database directly into your web site, please contact IASP for more information about this service.